Type to search


Latest News – lKarnataka Assembly Elections 2018: BS Yeddyurappa At Governor’s As Congress-JDS Keep Head Count: 10 Points

Bringing you the latest trending news from the world.

What is happening in our world? Who is doing what? what is going on now? These are questions that will be answered. Enjoy.

Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018: BS Yeddyurappa At Governor’s As Congress-JDS Keep Head Count: 10 Points


Congress and JD(S) have reached an understanding on a post-poll tie-up in Karnataka

New Delhi BS Yeddyurappa, prospective chief minister of the BJP, met Governor Vajubhai Vala today to stake claim to form the next government in Karnataka. The Governor said “a decision will be made after seeing all possibilities”, he said after the meeting. With 104 seats, the BJP has fallen eight short of majority in the 224-seat assembly, but claims it will have the necessary numbers. The JD(S)-Congress combine will meet the Governor later today to bolster their claim. The allies say they have 118 lawmakers. But there are concerns of poaching. Reports said three Congress lawmakers are missing, which the party has denied.

Here’s your 10-point cheatsheet to this big story:

  1. Asked how the BJP plans to achieve majority, senior BJP leader Prakash Javadekar said “it would happen in the natural course of things”. Many lawmakers are “upset” with the “unethical marriage of convenience” between the Congress and the JD(S), he added.
  2. Alert to the possibility of poaching, the Congress and HD Deve Gowda’s JD(S) are planning to move their lawmakers to a resort. The JD(S) said five of their lawmakers have already been approached by the BJP. Another Congress lawmaker claimed the same.
  3. Sources said three Congress lawmakers — Rajshekhar Patil, Narendra and Anand Singh — went “incommunicado” in the morning. Two of the lawmakers are said to be close to Reddy brothers, the mining barons from Bellary.
  4. “All the Congress MLAs are intact. Nobody is missing. We are confident of forming the government,” said Congress’s Siddaramaiah.Both Congress and the JD(S) are holding meetings with their legislators.
  5. Of the 222 assembly seats for which polling took place, the BJP bagged 104. An Independent lawmaker offered his support to the party this morning, taking the tally to 105. While the Congress won in 78 constituencies, the JD(S) and its pre-poll ally BSP have 38 seats.
  6. After being heavily outnumbered by the BJP during the counting of votes yesterday, the Congress showed political dexterity and struck a deal with the JD(S). The party has offered unconditional support to a government headed by JD(S) leader HD Kumaraswamy.
  7. The BJP contends that it should be allowed to form the government as it is the single largest party. The Congress disputes the claim, citing the precedent set by the BJP in Goa and Manipur last year. In both states, the Congress had emerged the single largest party but the BJP cobbled up alliances and was invited to form the government.
  8. The ball is now in the court of Governor Vajubhai Vala who can weigh the possibility of which party or combine can form a stable government before he takes the final call. Mr Vala can also consult legal and constitutional experts.
  9. “The Supreme Court has said the first party to give the majority will come to power. Even though the BJP is the single largest party, they don’t have the numbers required to form majority. They are 104 while we are 117. The Governor can’t be partial as that will be unconstitutional,” senior Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad said.
  10. At a late evening meeting at a five-star hotel in Bengaluru yesterday, top leaders of both parties met to discuss the new arrangement. After the meeting, Mr Kumaraswamy, who had brought down a coalition government with the Congress in 2006 and later allied with the BJP to become chief minister, said the new alliance was to “save secular forces”.

For the latest Election Results & Live Updates from Karnataka log on to NDTV.com. Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter for updates.

Source link


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: